MINUTES OF **SPECIAL MEETING** OF BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE WINK-LOVING INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

May 17, 2011

The Board of Trustees of the Wink-Loving Independent School District convened in **special** monthly session at 6:01 p.m., May 17, 2011 in the administration board room.

Members Present Eddie Brewer, Brad White, Melissa Halterman, Minerva Soltero,

Larry Antley, Russ Slaughter, Kristyl Hotze arrived at 6:20 p.m.

OTHERS	Scotty Carman, Elementary principal, Eddie Boggess, High School Principal,
PRESENT	John Benham, Superintendent, and Grace Harrison, Board Secretary
	·
CANVAS	The board members canvassed the tally sheets from the trustee election of
ELETION	May 14, 2011. In the unofficial tabulation of votes:
RESULTS	·

In Place 4: Russ Slaughter received a total of 113 votes. Linda Harder received a total of 93 votes.

In Place 5: Kristyl Hotze received a total of 85 votes.

Pastor Richard Ray received a total of 82 votes.

Shelley Ramos received a total of 39 votes.

Grace Harrison, Election Administrator, told the board members that an error in math on the tally sheets from Wink election day showed that Pastor Richard Ray had a total of 31 votes instead of 36 votes. This correction changed his total votes to 77. Kristyl Hotze's total votes were added incorrectly and should have been 86 votes instead of 85 votes. The tally sheets were passed around for the board members to review and ask any questions. With the corrections made, a motion was needed to accept the canvass results.

Trustee Soltero made the motion to accept the election results as presented. The motion seconded by Trustee White and carried with a 6-0 vote, which accounted for the current board members present. Kristyl Hotze was not present for the canvass.

ADMINISTER
OATH OF
OFFICE

The oath of office was administered by Grace Harrison; board secretary to, Trustee Place 4, Russ Slaughter, and to Trustee Place 5, Kristyl Hotze.

REORGANIZE THE BOARD Trustee Soltero made the motion to nominate Eddie Brewer for president. Motion was seconded by Trustee Halterman. Trustee Antley made the motion

	for the board to stay the same. Motion seconded by Trustee Halterman and passed with a unanimous vote. (7-0).
CURRENT SLATE OF OFFICERS	The new officers for the board will be: President: Eddie Brewer Vice President: Minerva Soltero Secretary: Grace Harrison Assistant Secretary: Kristyl Hotze
ADJOURNMENT	Declaration to adjourn at 6:30 p.m. on motion by Trustee Antley and seconded by Trustee White. The motion carried with a unanimous vote.
Attest:	
Secretary	

Board President